Instagram & Phoneography event

It all started at the first Flatlay workshop! The ladies and I were so inspired by the images we took that morning and how they would transform our Instagram feeds that we discussed how amazing and insightful it would be to have an event that covered many areas of Instagram and how to effectively monetise your brand right from your phone.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Christina Masureik and I

My co-host Christina Masureik and I got to work almost immediately to make this vision a reality. First things first, we had to secure a venue and Shared Cape Town was willing to collaborate with us on this great venture.

We then brainstormed on who we wanted to headline this event, I remember saying in passing, it would be amazing to have Lauren Dallas as a key note. Lauren Dallas is Founder of the growth academy, a South African-based e learning platform that gives entrepreneurs the skills and strategies they need to start and grow their business. The growth academy was named as one of Fast company’s most innovative companies of 2017. We asked her if she would be interested and she said YES!!! A perfect example of asking for what you want!

img_4007

We were equally amazed that Genevieve Beyleveld agreed to do a key note for our event too! She is a former TV producer for DSTV but decided to throw in the corporate towel and develop her own brand centred around her extravagant life. She has been extremely successful and has a passion on talking about monetising your brand and how to go about it. She is known globally and lives between New York city and South Africa.

Our workshop experts were finalised and we secured
Abigail K – to talk on “Your confident personal brand”
Annene van Eeden – to talk on “The art and ease of Phoneography”
Olya Keinhans – to talk on “How to sell on Instagram” and finally
Christina Masureik – to talk about “Know your Strategy”

I learnt so much during the planning of this event. Although I have over a decade of international event management experience, I honestly believe you are never too old or too experienced to learn something new. The planning process, as with many things, came with it’s ups and downs however, the result was worth every second!

The evening started with a bang! our delegation were welcomed into the venue with wine, food and amazing music by the fabulous Kyle Chowles! And before I knew it… in walked Jo-ann Strauss!! Yes… the former miss SA saw value enough in this event that she bought a ticket and came along! I was so over the moon to see her! I can still recall watching her win her title! This was one of those moments you will never forget.

img_4044

Our key note speakers took to the stage and nailed it!! Gen was authentic, humorous, and very generous with her information. Lauren was inspiring, knowledgeable and practical with her content. I had so many ideas I wanted to implement after her talk!

The audience moved into their workshops and rotated until everyone had a chance to hear from each workshop leader. We ended the night with a super hamper giveaway, networking, more fabulous wine and great food!

I have to say, my inbox was inundated after the event with thank you notes. It was truly a magical evening and I was so inspired to see it all come together so beautifully!

img_4009

A massive thank you to all our speakers as well as our sponsors who were so generous to this event! If you missed out on the event, keep your eyes peeled for the next one. We hope to see you there!

X
Candace

Thank you to our sponsors:
Valens Leather @valensleather
Culture Lab Kombucha @culturelab_kombucha
Zang Chocolate @zangchocolate
Grow Marketing @growmarketingsa
Flatlay SA @flatlayboards_sa
Esperer Designs @espererdesigns17
Sugarbird Gin @sugarbirdgin
Tora Grace @toragrace
Pure Beginnings @purebeginnings
Tree of Life Bakery @thetreeoflifebakery
Kyle Chowles @kylechowles
Shared Office Space @sharedcapetown
Jaqueline Day Photography @jacquelinedaysa
Ben Wren Wine @benwrenwine
Future Females @futurefemales

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s